Lady and The Track | December 10, 2022

Scroll to top


Home » News » 2013-2014 Eclipse Awards Finalist and Event Schedule

2013-2014 Eclipse Awards Finalist and Event Schedule

2013-2014 Eclipse Awards Finalist and Event Schedule

The 43rd Annual Eclipse Awards are set to take place at Gulfstream Park’s Sport of Kings Theater on Saturday, January 18, 2014. The finalist for the prestigious Eclipse Awards, presented by the Daily Racing Form, the Breeders’ Cup, and the Stronach Group, have finally been publically announced after voters used a 10-5-1 point basis for their top three selections in each category.

2013 2014 Eclipse Awards

The 43rd Annual 2013-2014 Eclipse Awards are set to take place at Gulfstream Park on January 18, 2014 for the 2nd consecutive year. Mucho Macho Ma, Wise Dan, and Will Take Charge are up for Horse of The Year.

The 2013-2014 Eclipse Awards will take place at Gulfstream Park in Hallendale Beach, Florida for the 2nd consecutive year. Gulfstream Park has a schedule of events to enjoy the week of the Eclipse Awards including a Charity Golf Tournament benefiting the Grayson-Jockey Club Foundation, the Eclipse Awards Ladies’ Luncheon benefiting the Race for Education, the Eclipse Awards Charity Poker Tournament benefiting the Permanently Disabled Jockey Fund, the Eclipse Awards ThoroFan 2nd Annual Awards Breakfast honoring Cot Campbell, and a beautiful cocktail party benefiting Gulfstream Park Thoroughbred Aftercare. All of the scheduled events for the 2013-2014 Eclipse Awards are open to the public with minimal restrictions. Please visit the official Eclipse Awards event schedule at NTRA by clicking here.

2013 Eclipse Awards Finalist:

Horse of The Year
Mucho Macho Man
Will Take Charge
Wise Dan

Two-Year-Old Male
New Year’s Day
Shared Belief

2013-2014 Eclipse Awards

Jose Montano, 2012-2013 Eclipse award winner for Outstanding Apprentice Jockey, poses with Trixie Hammer of Lady and The Track at Gulfstream Park.

Two-Year-Old Filly
Ria Antonia
She’s A Tiger

Three-Year-Old Male
Palace Malice
Will Take Charge

Three-Year-Old Filly
Close Hatches
Princess of Sylmar

Older Male
Game On Dude
Mucho Macho Man
Wise Dan

Older Female
Joyful Victory
Royal Delta
Tiz Miz Sue

Male Sprinter
Points Offthebench
Sahara Sky
Secret Circle

Female Sprinter
Dance to Bristol
Groupie Doll

Male Turf Horse
Point of Entry
Wise Dan

2013-2014 Eclipse Awards

Hall of Fame Trainer D. Wayne Lukas will receive a special Award of Merit at the 2013-2014 Eclipse Awards at Gulfstream Park.

Female Turf Horse

Steeplechase Horse
Divine Fortune
Italian Wedding

Juddmonte Farms
Midwest Thoroughbreds
Kenneth & Sarah Ramsey

Adena Springs
Morton Fink
Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey

Bob Baffert
Bill Mott
Todd Pletcher

Javier Castellano
Joel Rosario
Gary Stevens

Apprentice Jockey
Victor Carrasco
Manuel Franco
Edgard Zayas

In addition to the 2013 Eclipse Awards finalists, trainer D. Wayne Lukas will receive an Award of Merit. Jim Benes will receive an Eclipse Award for handicapper of the year, and the Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance will receive a special Eclipse Award for their efforts. Special Eclipse Awards will be presented to outstanding media as well.

Related Links:
2012-2013 Eclipse Awards Coverage